Posted by: peanutbutteryelleytime | February 24, 2009

in which yelley discusses being heartbroken by socks.

Several months ago, I bought some yarn. This yarn:
Colinette Jitterbug - Elephant's Daydream
I had the intention of making a pair of socks with a raindrop cable pattern on them.

So I cast on. And soon I had a sock that would fit both of my feet in it.

So I tore it out and cast on with smaller needles. And soon I had a sock with a toe far too pointy to be comfortable or good-looking.

So I tore it out again and, at the suggestion of a friend, made a rounder toe. And I ended up with a sock with a toe that did not fit around my toes.

So I tore it out again and rewound the yarn cakes. The yarn sat in the darkest depths of my stash for months, untouched, and almost completely out of mind.

And then I pulled the yarn out of the box again, and cast on for a fourth time. I knit for a few inches, and it seemed like I would at last have a sock that fit properly. And then I accidentally tugged on the wrong cable and dropped eighteen stitches. Eighteen cabled stitches. So I took that sock off, ripped back a few rows, reknit it on DPNs, and put it back on the circular.

Three inches later…
I Am Trying To Break Your Heart 1
I Am Trying To Break Your Heart 2
I Am Trying To Break Your Heart 3

Heartbreaking socks, victory will be mine.

I am an American aquarium drinker
I assassin down the avenue
I’m hiding out in the big city blinking
What was I thinking when I let go of you

Let’s forget about the tongue-tied lightning
Let’s undress just like cross-eyed strangers
This is not a joke so please stop smiling
What was I thinking when I said it didn’t hurt

I want to glide through those brown eyes dreaming
Take you from the inside, baby hold on tight
You were so right when you said I’ve been drinking
What was I thinking when we said good night

I want to hold you in the Bible-black predawn
You’re quite a quiet, domino, bury me now
Take off your band-aid ’cause I don’t believe in touchdowns
What was I thinking when we said hello

I always thought that if I held you tightly
You’d always love me like you did back then
Then I fell asleep in the city kept blinking
What was I thinking when I let you back in

I am trying to break your heart
I am trying to break your heart
But still I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t easy
I am trying to break your heart

Disposable Dixie cup drinker
I assassin down the avenue
I’ve been hiding out in the big city blinking
What was I thinking when I let go of you
-Wilco, “I Am Trying To Break Your Heart”

Pattern coming soon, perhaps?


Responses

  1. Was I notified of this new blog?

    • i figured you’d find it sooner or later. ^_^ i’ll be sure to notify you of any changes to my internet persona.

  2. you rock! I love your socks!!!!!!!!

  3. I have never heard of Wilco or that song, the song is pretty funny. I love the socks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

