Posted by: peanutbutteryelleytime | March 10, 2009

in which yelley discusses mondays and technology overload

The boy and I both work for the same company, but we have nearly opposite schedules. I work an afternoon shift starting at 1 pm and ending whenever the lab is finished with the samples for the day, right now usually around 10 or 11 pm. He works a night shift starting at 3 am and ending around 1 or 2 pm. So on most days the only time we get to spend together is my 15 minute break that I take when he finishes work and I am just getting started.

Except for Mondays. Since I switched my work schedule, Mondays are our one day off together, so we try to spend them doing something special. One thing we do is Adventure Cooking Day, where we choose a really complicated recipe and prepare it together. I like this because it is cheaper than eating out and sometimes we discover that things we thought were complicated are actually pretty easy (risotto, I’m talking about you).

Today was Board Games at Starbucks Day. We took Tangram Master and Bananagrams , which are both great games. Especially Bananagrams because you can make up your own rules and play a different way each time. Also the boy had a caramel macchiato that they forgot to put espresso in, so he drank half a cup of steamed milk before he realized that something was not right. But that is beside the point.

So here is the point I am trying to make. We got some weird looks at the coffee shop. I’m not sure if the boy noticed, but I definitely did. I don’t think we were doing anything particularly weird, unless you call having fun with things that don’t plug into the wall or connect to the internet weird. Which I guess nowadays is kind of weird. I am pretty happy about the fact that even though we have tons of video games and a television that might be a bit over the top, we can still be thoroughly amused by 144 letter tiles in a bag shaped like a banana.

My youngest sister is nearly 6 years old and already has a television/VCR/DVD player in her bedroom, her own portable DVD player, an MP3 player, a Nintendo DS, a Wii, and easy access to the internet. You know what I had when I was 6? I had a Teddy Ruxpin doll that I was convinced was magic and a car racing game that projected a 3 color image on the wall. The Beast will never know what it is like to live without the internet. She will never have check in the encyclopedia only to find that the answer she is looking for hasn’t been written yet. It just seems strange to me that I remember life before the tubes but The Beast never will. I suppose everyone feels this way in one way or another.

So here is an unrelated thing. I bought some cleaning sponges at the Japanese dollar store the other day because hopefully we will be leaving our apartment soon and will need to give it a thorough cleaning. They are supposed to be like the Mr. Clean Magic Erasers I think, but look at the package:

Look at those angry eyebrows! These sponges are serious about cleaning. They hate dirt and grime and they will get that junk out SO HARD. Seriously. These are sponges that you can count on to get the job done.

I am so amused by the packaging that I almost don’t want to use them…


Responses

  1. Hahahaha! Those sponges are awesome. You’re right, they are very serious about cleaning. If I was in a bind, I would depend on them to get the job done!

    I am envious of your Japanese Dollar Store trip… the closest one to me is almost over 4 hours away! But I’ll be heading that direction next month. I’ll have to keep my eye out for these sponges! Hehe!

    *waves*


Leave a Reply

Categories

