Posted by: peanutbutteryelleytime | April 12, 2009

in which yelley explores new realms of color and is re-energized about house hunting.

Hey, want to see what I’m knitting? Of course you do.
IMG_4420
Jaywalker socks in Knit Picks Risata in Fairy Tale and Clementine on US size 0s.

I love how the stripes are turning out so far, but I’m having a bit of an issue with the fit. Once I have the sock on it’s fine, but getting the cuff over my heel is difficult. I guess it works… it’s going to have to because I’m definitely not going to rip it out and redo the cuff! I also like the yarn; it’s much nicer to knit with than the Panda Cotton that I made my last pair of socks with. It’s not as soft as the Panda Cotton, but it doesn’t split as much so I’m enjoying knitting these much more. Still not a big fan of the one-at-a-time on DPNs method of sock knitting, but with two colors and only one ball of each, I think doing both at once and having 4 yarn tails hanging off the socks would get very annoying very quickly. I will probably have to reverse the colors for the second sock and make the cuff, heel, and toe in orange. I am okay with that.

Yes, I am making fuschia and orange striped socks. Amazing, isn’t it? I am actually making something for myself that is not green or blue or brown. (The pink and green socks are for my mother, the purple hat is for my sister, those things don’t count.) Blue and green and other cool colors are my comfort zone… it’s pretty much all I wear and most of what I knit with. I am kind of liking the change though.

And I am still house hunting. I have now made 6 offers on 6 different houses and lost 7 houses (I lost one house twice… that was pretty amazing). I was nearing the end of my sanity… I had seen close to 200 homes in the area and was out of options. I decided to take the boy to the real estate office with me and talk to the mortgage person about getting a new pre-approval with his pay included with the hopes of getting a higher price point. So the guy looked through all of my paperwork and told me that he couldn’t understand why I have 3 pre-approvals from other banks in the $130k-$135k range when he said I could easily get up to $190k without even counting the boy’s income at all. Needless to say, I was pretty shocked. A $60,000 difference is pretty significant, I think. But he showed me some more numbers, what my monthly payment would be including taxes and insurance and everything, and it’s all still well within what I can afford each month.

So now I feel like I’m starting over with the house hunt and can do it right this time. I’m back to my day one house hunting criteria and then some, now that I feel like I can afford it. Going back out to look on Monday, finally feeling optimistic. Let’s hope that my optimism isn’t for nothing…


Leave a Reply

Categories

