Posted by: peanutbutteryelleytime | April 20, 2009

in which yelley is under contract and feels uninspired to knit.

Yes, after many failed attempts, I am officially under contract for a house. Want to see it? Of course you do.

It looks like a pretty standard house, nothing overly special or unique about it, but it is in a very nice area and is across the street from a park. I am going back there with my realtor tomorrow to take pictures of the inside, so you can all see the outdated glory that waits within. Don’t worry, that oddly placed triangular tree will not be long for this world once we move in.

This was house number 7, and it almost didn’t work out for us. When I first went to sign the paperwork, I saw that there were some Mello-Roos taxes on the property of $144. My realtor told me that she had no idea that the house had those taxes and that it would be an extra $144 a month on top of my mortgage payment. That’s not really in our budget, so we decided to walk away. Then she called the listing agent and he told her that the taxes are for the whole year, so we will only owe $72 twice each year. So maybe our realtor is not the brightest one out there, and maybe I should have taken all the advice of getting a new agent, but to be honest I am glad that I stuck with her. She’s a nice lady and we get along really well with her.

So now I have the inspection to worry about, but I didn’t see any obvious problems with the house so I am not all that worried. I’m hoping that my stress levels will drop a bit now that I don’t have to go out and look at houses and write offers that I expect to fail anymore.

On to knitting. I finished the first of my Risata striped Jaywalker socks and I am not really feeling up for the second. No big surprise there, I suppose. I love the way that the socks look, but I am not loving the feel of them so much. The yarn is great to knit with, but they feel very hot and thick compared to my Panda Cotton socks. Maybe it’s just because I tried it on today and it is a ridiculous 90 degrees Fahrenheit outside today, but I’m not sure how I feel about them. I’ve already cast on for the second, so if I ever want my size 0 DPNs back I’ll have to finish it. But right now I feel like knitting something else, I just don’t know what yet. Any suggestions? And no, digging out one of my WIPs or UFOs is definitely not an option.


Responses

  1. Congrats on the house! I do agree that the tree is in an awkward spot.

  2. Yay! I am glad that your Mello-Roos is so low, some communities it is thousands. They must have built the schools when they originally built the house.😀

    I am still up for scraping and edging!


Leave a Reply

Categories

