Posted by: peanutbutteryelleytime | June 20, 2009

in which yelley renovates and knits secretly.

So aside from the part where all of my extra money (yeah, there really isn’t such a thing as extra money, I know) goes straight to Home Depot, I’m kind of liking this homeownership thing. I love my house. I love slowly turning each room into something that reflects me (and maybe the boy a bit). I love the little bits of green grass that are starting to grow in now that I water the lawn on my allotted days every Wednesday, Friday, and Sunday. I’d go so far as to say that this house is the best thing I’ve ever purchased, though Sabrina (that’s my car, for those who don’t remember) and my swift are definitely up there as well.

One thing I’m not liking so much is living without a working kitchen. The stove is disassembled right now, the oven is in a pile of debris in the garage… we have 2 rice cookers, 2 George Foreman grills, a toaster oven, and a slow cooker that I guess we could be more creative with but we aren’t really trying as hard as we should. The kitchen is making progress though!

Hmm, that looks kind of cool to see the pictures lined up in sequence like that. Let’s try it again!

Needless to say, I am pretty stoked about how it is turning out. The contractors are coming again on Monday to sheetrock the edges and inside the kitchen. After that we’ll be at a standstill until more funding comes in from somewhere. I have some plans that I hope will come to fruition though…

So about knitting. I’m still knitting, I promise. I can’t show you what I’m making though, I don’t think. At least not yet I can’t. I’m designing a sock pattern for the Head Over Heels Sock Club from Anzula and I hope to have it finished by this Sunday. Sabrina (the Anzula dyer, not my car) was nice enough to have me and a friend over last weekend to show us her yarn. I had been so good about not buying any yarn up until I saw hers…

Anzula 80/10/10 – 80% superwash merino, 10% cashmere, 10% nylon. Seriously, this is some nice yarn. You should buy some. Go buy some.


Responses

  1. 1. I love the word disassemble. Makes me think of Johnny 5 in Short Circuit.

    2. Your demolished kitchen makes me want to demo something. It is looking fantastic!

    3. Thanks for sharing my yarn!

    • You don’t need to demo anything though… your house is already fantastic and full of character. Mine is just a random conglomeration of boxes from the 70s.

  2. I❤ the house minus the stupid kitchen wall. Squeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!1

  3. I love your pictures of the demolition! Your kitchen is coming along well. We have an electric griddle still in the box that has never been used if you would like to borrow it. We got it as a holiday gift several years ago, but have not had the opportunity to use it since we stay with the In Laws.


Leave a Reply

Categories

