Posted by: peanutbutteryelleytime | September 3, 2009

in which yelley gets a new addition and knits something awesome.

We have a baby now.

His name is Tomo, he is a Shih-Tzu, and he is so so small. Yeah, he is pretty much the cutest thing ever.

And I am knitting something awesome.

I’m only 6 pattern repeats into this and it is going to need some serious blocking, but so far it is turning out great and the colors are stacking as I had hoped. I met the Wenat half of Yarn Floozies at Sock Summit and she had a gorgeous pooling stole made from rainbow Wollmeise. She was kind enough to tell me how to make one of my own (and she has a great pooling tutorial on her blog), so I made sure to get some yarn that was dyed symmetrically while I was at Sock Summit so I could make one too. I’m using some Blue Moon Socks That Rock Mediumweght mill ends and size 5 needles (maybe I should have used 4?). I backwards loop casted on 41 stitches, enough to use up one color repeat, then chose a stitch pattern that fit evenly across that number. In order to get the colors stacking continuously I have to adjust my tension a lot, sometimes in the same row even I have to make myself knit tighter or looser. It’s strange knitting that way, but it makes things more interesting. I’m hoping it won’t make things look to weird once it’s finished and blocked… we’ll see.

So I have been pretty much dead to the world for the last few weeks. Work has been ridiculously busy and I get home every night (well, get home every early morning) and I just want to fall into bed and sleep forever. I’ve been sustaining myself using coffee Rockstar energy drinks, which is probably unhealthy at best and dangerous at worst. I guess it is paying off, though? Last month my lab did a record 80,000 tests in the micro department, breaking (obliterating?) our old company record (also held by my lab location) of 72,000 test per month. I suppose I should feel proud of our hard work, but really I just feel tired. All the days I spend at work melt together into one big day and I can’t remember when I’ve done what or what still needs to be done. Bitching and moaning, I know.


Responses

  1. i heart tomo. I think I will have to symmetrically dye some yarn so I can do one of those scarfs now too.

  2. Oooh, snazzy color combo on the knitting! Cute puppy, he looks so soft. I like the name you picked for him, partially because it ends with ‘mo’ heh.šŸ™‚

  3. Your pup is adorable and your work in progress is beautiful!! I have to read that tutorial…


Leave a Reply

Categories

