Posted by: peanutbutteryelleytime | October 21, 2009

in which yelley remembers that this is a knitting blog.

So I am still sick and stayed home from work yesterday and today on doctor’s orders. And now my sister is home sick too, though she is sicker than I am. She went back to her college last weekend where there have been 30something confirmed cases of H1N1 and she stayed in a house where people had the flu… brilliant, I know. So now it’s only a matter of time before we’re all as sicky as she is…

Being home sick has its advantages though… I’m starting the throat cabling section on my Rogue hoodie, which is pretty amazing since I just pulled it out of the WIP box last week with the pocket barely joined. I don’t have a more recent in-progress picture, but here’s a poorly lit one from the last time I worked on it… in January…

I’m using Dream In Color Classy in Chinatown Apple on US 5s, which is beautiful and great to knit with. It’s a superwash wool, but my swatch looked rough after it came out of the washer and dryer (yes, I made, washed and dried a swatch!), so I think this will be a handwash only sweater. I am stoked on finishing it though. It fit really well the last time I tried it on, which was before I split for the upper body and arm shaping. I’m feeling optimistic though! Me, optimistic! Though I guess all the meds I’m taking right now might have something to do with that…

My anniversary socks are finished!

I didn’t talk about this at all on the blog (sorry), but The Boy and I celebrated our 3 year anniversary this past September with a trip to San Francisco. He let me stop at Imagiknit first, because he is awesome, and I picked up some Sheep Shop Sheep Feet on an impulse and cast on for socks while waiting in line to see Il Trovatore. This yarn is also quite wonderful, and I am very sad that it is being discontinued. It’s all on sale at Webs and I have already stocked up on the colors that I like, and I recommend that you do the same if you are a sock knitter type. Il Trovatore was pretty amazing too… I think I am getting pretty into this opera stuff. We’re probably done for this season, but I hope to make plans to go see another at the opera house next season.

My yarn studio is coming along nicely… I had a great weekend with Craigslist and managed to find a large storage shelf, a table and 4 chairs, and a twin mattress for the daybed I bought a month ago all on the same day. It’s looking more and more like a yarn shop in there, which is the look I was going for.

Those shelves are looking pretty empty… maybe I need to buy more yarn?

Pink chairs! How could I resist pink chairs?
My stash looks happy in its new home and I am excited to get the room completely finished. Still have to finish painting the bed frame and get that put together, need to dress the bed somehow and cover it with unnecessary pillows (maybe I’ll knit some?), maybe get a rug (the floor is awesome, but very cold), need to frame and hang all my knitting-related art (socktopus!), need to get (make?) some curtains… it’s still a ways off, but I’m getting there!

So this was supposed to be primarily a knitting blog, but the last time I mentioned knitting here was in early September… lame, I know. Bother me to post about knitting more.


Responses

  1. The room looks really cute. You guys are doing a great job with your house.

  2. Can’t wait to come over for a sleeeeeeeeepover!

  3. I hope that you are feeling better soon!

  4. You table and chairs are AMAZING!!!! I love it! Good job!!

  5. Congratulations!! You have been nominated for an award! Now, it’s not an Emmy or even a Blogger’s Choice, but details are on my blog, check it out.

  6. What a gorgeous dinette set! I also love the big blocks of bold colour on the floor.


Leave a Reply

Categories

