Posted by: peanutbutteryelleytime | April 26, 2010

in which yelley misses the mitten.

It’s been a few weeks since I got back from Michigan and as always I returned to California with mixed emotions. Every time I go back I realize how many things I gave up to come out here – my family, favorite places, feeling like I know where I am and know where I’m going. I’ve been rebuilding here, but it’s not the same. *sigh*


Mom’s ugly socks. I guess Dad felt left out of the photoshoot and snuck his gross feet in there too. (Hi Dad. Your feet are too big for handknit socks… I made Jason a pair and it was torture.) I have to admit, the socks do look okay now that they’re on her feet. Still an awful color though. I learned that Mom handwashes her 2 pairs (3 now!) of handknit socks every time she wears them and she wears them all once a week. I love my mom. ^_^


My grandma and her new socks – a waving lace pattern in Blue Moon Socks That Rock Mediumweight, Watermelon Tourmaline. I knit this pair in under a week! I decided a bit late that I wanted to have a pair to give to my grandma too, but I finished them early Sunday morning before I flew back home.

I like when people wear the things I have knit. I don’t even wear the things I have knit.


Responses

  1. love the socks! i packed up and left michigan behind as well along with my knitting mother…..she still sends me scarfs and sweaters, but i miss some things. was fun to read your blog, though!


Leave a Reply

Categories

